LESSONS IN EXCELLENCY: PAULINA PORIZKOVA-OCASEK

Saluting and admiring All the Good Stuff Always Happens in the Ladies Room, the Excellently no-holds-barred, humorous and self-effacing Huffington Post account of 45-year-old legendary 1980’s Czech-Swedish supermodel Paulina Porizkova, longtime wife of rocker Ric Ocasek, about her, at moments, less than delightful evening at a recent amfAR gala held in New York during Fashion Week, and her treatment during run ins with such A-list Excellent People as Chloë Sevigny (“I told Chloë Sevigny I loved her in ‘Big Love,’ to which she responded with a “Thank you,” and clearly pronounced my full name–I think it was a compliment.”), John Kerry‘s daughter Alexandra Kerry, (she “was a bit standoff-ish, or at least to me. I complimented her on her dress and she just nodded. Ouch. I guess she found me of no significance. But she also appeared to be texting while the rest of us conversed. I felt like telling her I voted for her father, as though she owed me one.”), and Anna Wintour (“The real fun, though, was in the ladies’ room. I walked in and almost straight into Anna Wintour. “Hi, Anna,” I said brightly to Anna’s mirror reflection. Her large eyes in her large head flickered. And with the slightest nod, one that may have been a twitch, she left me standing at the sinks. I admit I felt a bit more than slighted, I was after all, on quite a few covers of her magazine, and the glance she gave me is one I’d give to an expired carton of milk. I am aware my expiration date (as a model) is long past, but a slight acknowledgment that I wasn’t the bathroom attendant would have been nice.”). And Excellent.

The height of fashion: Her Excellency Paulina Porizkova-Ocasek on cover of the, pre Anna Wintour-edited, September 1986 issue of Vogue magazine.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

